Licence terms
6 criteriaThe same criteria for both, with the page each figure came from and the day it was read.
| Criterion | ShipFast | MakerKit |
|---|---|---|
| ASSERTED, WHAT EACH VENDOR PUBLISHES ABOUT ITS OWN PRODUCT | ||
| Cheapest licence | $199 (Starter)Listed at $299 struck through to $199, under a running discount: "$100 off for the first 8400 customers".shipfa.st, read 2026-09-18 | $349 (Pro)"Pro, A B2B SaaS Starter Kit for individual developers. $349 /lifetime".makerkit.dev/pricing, read 2026-09-18 |
| Team licence | Not publishedThe tiers on offer are Starter, All-in and a ShipFast + CodeFast bundle. None is described as a team or multi-seat licence.shipfa.st, read 2026-09-18 | $649 (Teams)"Teams, A B2B SaaS Starter Kit for teams of developers or companies. $649 /lifetime".makerkit.dev/pricing, read 2026-09-18 |
| Seats on the entry licence | Not publishedshipfa.st, read 2026-09-18 | 1"Access to 1 user (only you)" on Pro; Teams is "Up to 5 collaborators".makerkit.dev/pricing, read 2026-09-18 |
| Projects you may ship | Unlimited"Pay once. Build unlimited projects!"shipfa.st, read 2026-09-18 | Unlimited"Unlimited Projects" on both tiers; "Build unlimited applications".makerkit.dev/pricing, read 2026-09-18 |
| Updates | Lifetime updatesListed on both tiers. The All-in tier also carries the line "Updated 6 months ago".shipfa.st, read 2026-09-18 | Continuous, lifetime licence"Continuous updates" and "Lifetime license" on both tiers; "One-time payment, no subscriptions".makerkit.dev/pricing, read 2026-09-18 |
| Stacks offered | Next.js; MongoDB or Supabase"NextJS boilerplate … Stripe / Lemon Squeezy … MongoDB / Supabase … Google Oauth & Magic Links".shipfa.st, read 2026-09-18 | Supabase, Drizzle or Prisma"Choose your Stack … Supabase … Drizzle … Prisma", on Next.js 16, React Router 8 and TanStack Start.makerkit.dev/pricing, read 2026-09-18 |
| WHEN EACH ONE IS THE RIGHT ANSWER | ||
| Pick it when | You want the cheapest way into a working Next.js SaaS and you want it today. ShipFast is the lowest entry price of the three at $199, it is explicitly "Pay once. Build unlimited projects!", and it bundles the things that eat a first weekend, Stripe or Lemon Squeezy, Mailgun, Google OAuth and magic links, and a set of ChatGPT prompts for terms and privacy. | You are building B2B and you know it, teams, organisations, roles, a super admin. MakerKit is the only one of the three whose feature table names Organizations/Teams and Super Admin as shipped features, and it is the only one offering a choice of three data layers (Supabase, Drizzle, Prisma) at the same price rather than one opinionated stack. |
KitGrade sells none of these and takes no referral fee on any of them. It scores them.
What this index measured
19 rowsThe upper band is each vendor's own claim about its product; the lower band is what the published method computed.
| Row | ||
|---|---|---|
| ASSERTED, WHAT EACH VENDOR PUBLISHES ABOUT ITS OWN PRODUCT | ||
| Price | $199-$648 | $349-$649 one-time |
| Licence | Proprietary (vendor licence) | Proprietary (vendor licence) |
| Built on | Next.js, React, MongoDB, Stripe, Mailgun | Next.js, React, Supabase, PostgreSQL, Stripe, Turborepo |
| Documentation | Site, 57 pages | Site, 15 pages |
| Support | Private Discord community | Private Discord community |
| Authentication | Claimedvendor page "sign-up", https://shipfa.st/ | Claimedvendor page "authentication", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| Social / OAuth login | Claimedvendor page "oauth", https://shipfa.st/ | Claimedvendor page "social login", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| Teams & organisations | Claimedvendor page "team", https://shipfa.st/ | Claimedvendor page "team", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| Roles & permissions | not claimed | Claimedvendor page "role", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| Payments & billing | Claimedvendor page "stripe", https://shipfa.st/ | Claimedvendor page "stripe", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| Transactional email | Claimedvendor page "transactional email", https://shipfa.st/ | Claimedvendor page "transactional email", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| Admin panel | not claimed | Claimedvendor page "admin panel", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| Internationalisation | not claimed | Claimedvendor page "internationalization", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| Test suite | not claimed | Claimedvendor page "end-to-end tests", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| CI pipeline | not claimed | not claimed |
| Background jobs | not claimed | not claimed |
| Webhook handling | Claimedvendor page "webhook", https://shipfa.st/ | not claimed |
| Blog / content | Claimedvendor page "blog", https://shipfa.st/ | Claimedvendor page "blog", https://makerkit.dev/ |
| File uploads | not claimed | not claimed |
| MEASURED, COMPUTED HERE FROM THE PUBLISHED METHOD | ||
| Maintenance, max 30 | not measurable | not measurable |
| Completeness, max 25 | 12.5 | 17.9 |
| Transparency, max 20 | 11 | 11 |
| Documentation, max 15 | 15 | 11 |
| Support, max 10 | 10 | 10 |
| Total | 48.5 | 49.9 |
| Points measurable at all | 70 | 70 |
What people ask about this
4ShipFast vs MakerKit, cheapest licence?
ShipFast: $199 (Starter). Listed at $299 struck through to $199, under a running discount: "$100 off for the first 8400 customers". MakerKit: $349 (Pro). "Pro, A B2B SaaS Starter Kit for individual developers. $349 /lifetime". Read from shipfa.st and makerkit.dev on 2026-09-18.
ShipFast vs MakerKit, team licence?
ShipFast does not state it on shipfa.st. The tiers on offer are Starter, All-in and a ShipFast + CodeFast bundle. None is described as a team or multi-seat licence. MakerKit: $649 (Teams). "Teams, A B2B SaaS Starter Kit for teams of developers or companies. $649 /lifetime". Read from shipfa.st and makerkit.dev on 2026-09-18.
ShipFast vs MakerKit, seats on the entry licence?
ShipFast does not state it on shipfa.st. MakerKit: 1. "Access to 1 user (only you)" on Pro; Teams is "Up to 5 collaborators". Read from shipfa.st and makerkit.dev on 2026-09-18. Seats on the entry licence here means how many developers may hold the repository under the cheapest tier, which is the term most often discovered after purchase.
When should I pick ShipFast, and when MakerKit?
ShipFast, You want the cheapest way into a working Next.js SaaS and you want it today. ShipFast is the lowest entry price of the three at $199, it is explicitly "Pay once. Build unlimited projects!", and it bundles the things that eat a first weekend, Stripe or Lemon Squeezy, Mailgun, Google OAuth and magic links, and a set of ChatGPT prompts for terms and privacy. MakerKit, You are building B2B and you know it, teams, organisations, roles, a super admin. MakerKit is the only one of the three whose feature table names Organizations/Teams and Super Admin as shipped features, and it is the only one offering a choice of three data layers (Supabase, Drizzle, Prisma) at the same price rather than one opinionated stack.